South Street Kitchen

South Street Kitchen is easy enough to find if know where, a few minutes walk out the back of Sheffield Railway Station, follow the path up to South Park Flats, stunning views over the city.

The main entrance from Sheffield Station leads to the city centre. I wished to leave by the back entrance, was there a back entrance as I wished to be at the other side of the tracks?

I asked at the Information, I wished to get to the other side. They said no, only leads to trams, and signage only points to trams. They added, as if to say no one would wish to go there, leads to the estates.

When leaving by main entrance, can see flats across the valley.

I headed out to the trams, carefully crossed the tram lines, and walked up the slope towards the flats.  Luckily when I crossed the tracks, there was a sign pointing to South Street Kitchen.

South Street Kitchen is a hidden gem. Easy enough to find if know to follow the path up the slope, to find at the top nestled below the flats.

I was reminded of Puerto de la Cruz, always find a bar-cafe often more than one at the foot of a block of flats.

Very new, a little over a year old. Open, light and airy. Seeing the barista disappear, and wondering where, I followed, to find a flight of stairs, and a much larger area on the first floor.

Coffee excellent. Food looked good too, but no time to stay as I was heading back to the station, then to Union St for Taiwanese pop up kitchen.

Coffee sourced from Dark Woods, who appear to have something of a local monopoly in Sheffield. My only criticism, single origin old coffee and Dark Woods need to put roast date on their coffee, Best By is meaningless.

Occasional evening events.

South Street Kitchen is featured in The North and North Wales Independent Coffee Guide.

Now Then issue 132 had an article ‘Struggle For Space’ on urban resistance on Park Hill Flats.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment