Jamie’s Italy

I should have been an Italian

I should have been an Italian

The Slow Food movement started in Italy but it could have started anywhere. Slow Food is a celebration of local food, its methods, its culture, the use of local produce, its place in local culture and the preservation of local traditions and farming methods.

Jamie Oliver is passionate about food. This shows in his writing. But why Jamie’s Italy? What does a geezer from Southend-on-Sea know about Italy and Italian food?

It was his passion for food that led Jamie to Italy. He travelled across the country. He talked to local people, he watched how they prepared and cooked their food. He took notes. The result Jamie’s Italy.

This is something we can all do and it is something I have started to do. If I like a dish or a meal, I talk to the chef, I visit the kitchen, I record what I find. I then write it up to share with others.

I am not sure if it is in Jamie’s Italy or Jamie’s Kitchen that he shows a picture of a slaughtered sheep. He makes no apologies for this, he says it is important that we learn where our food comes from. He also makes the point that we should eat quality meat, organic meat, that we know where it comes from, we should know our butcher. I would add it should be free range and from rare breeds.

Expensive yes, but good food does not come cheap. Quality ingredients is half way there to a decent meal. If we find it expensive, do not go for cheapness, instead eat meat less often.

I was reminded of a restaurant I was taken to by a friend in Tenerife. The slaughtered pigs were hanging to one side!

Jamie makes this point repeatedly. Buy the best. The best is not always the most expensive. Local markets usually know their onions.

Quality olive oil makes all the difference. I find very good olive oil comes from Palestine. Small groups bring it out of Palestine and by buying it you are helping Palestinians suffering under Israeli occupation.

Jamie’s Italy is arranged like an Italian menu or a traditional Italian meal: antipasti (starters), primi (first course), insalate (salads), secondi (main course), contorni (side dishes), dolci (desserts).

For my lovely friend Sian with who I have had the pleasure to dine at Jamie’s Italian in Guildford. The food was excellent as was the pleasure of the company of my dining companion. We were not though too impressed by the house wine served in tetra paks!

Also see

Fried pizza recipe (Pizza fritta)

Jamie’s Kitchen

Jamie Does…

Cook with Jamie

Jamie Oliver diet show wins Emmy award

jamie’s food revolution wins emmy award

Jamie’s Home Cooking Skills Launches

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Jamie’s Italy”

  1. marie-christine Says:

    it’s part of the culture as well.
    I am in 7avens! 7 courses Oh my!
    and yes” Local market do know their onions and their garlic>”
    Thank you for sharing.
    Dolci ….la dolce vita! C’est ca!

    Like

Leave a comment