No-Oven Pizza

It is not possible to make pizza at home, at least not in the oven, it is not hot enough. But it is possible in a frying pan?

I tried a couple of weeks ago, proof of concept.

I made many mistakes. Second attempt, learn from mistakes.

Sorry Jamie Oliver, self raising flour no suitable, lacks strength and elasticity.

A couple of weeks ago I spotted in M&S frozen pizza dough. Give it a try.  Take out of the freezer the night before and leave in the fridge. In the morning take out of the fridge and leave for a couple of hours to reach room temperature.

A mistake I made was to take the pizza ball out of its little plastic bag and pop on a plate. It would have been ok if covered. It started to dry out.

My first attempt I did not dust with flour the surface or my hands. Sticky dough sticks to everything

The dough ball, push down with the heal of hand, then from the middle push outwards. Looks easy, not as easy as it looks, but becomes easier with practice. Keep pushing until about 9 inches if looking for a 12 inch pizza.

I was pleased it was circular, not irregular.

Now pick up, lay across back of hand and pull outwards.

A mistake. I should have laid across the back of both hands and pulled out from the centre.

I did not extend sufficiently, and pizza was not as thin as I would have wished.

Drop into a frying pan with heat on full whack.
It will take a couple of minutes. Lift to see if getting burnt spots.

For some reason I did not get the burnt spots and cooked for too long.  But, the surface did start to bubble.

Flip over.

Scoop out tomato sauce. Drop in the middle. Using the back of a spoon, apply in a spiral.

Add Lincolnshire Poacher cheese, sprinkle dried oregano. A couple more minutes. Periodically lift pizza to look at the base.

Surprisingly not bad. Pizza crispy, soft inside. Would have been even better had I a thin base.


This time burnt spots, cheese starting to melt.

Better than would find in a chain. Not as good as the best.

Use soft wheat 00, for pizza. Makes the world of difference.

I should have added mozzarella cheese.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment