Lincoln coronavirus lockdown day one hundred and two

A lovely warm sunny day, though mid-afternoon it turned cold.

Bus into Lincoln very busy. In the town, or at least Sincil Street, not as busy as last week. I did not venture into the High Street until late afternoon.

Lakeland, as always, empty. Two cappuccino cups on display, but not on sale anywhere. Lady found me a box, four cappuccino cups, £10, one cup missing, two pounds knocked off. Er, should that not be more than two pounds knocked off?

I picked up Eden compostable coffee pods, Tried later. Disgusting, unpleasant undrinkable coffee.

I have a haircut from the hairdresser that has relocated from Sincil Street. Last week impossible, today walk in. Boss leaves as I arrive. I am told busy in the morning. No so good, tiny space, no ventilation. Door should remain open.

Back way up Steep Hill.

Looked in Imperial Teas, dropped off three varieties of green coffee beans from Cameroon. Who I wished to see only there on Monday.

Later, either piss poor service or blatant racism at The Lion and Snake.

I would have had fish n chips from, Elite on the Bail, but turned too cool to sit on the little square.

A sausage roll from Redhill Farm shop.

Looked back in Imperial Teas. Picked up a French Press, a bar of chocolate. I could not believe what I was seeing, Panama Geisha from the Esmeralda Estate. Could I resist? Er, no. £23 for 125g.

In 2005, a Geisha lot won the Best of Panama competition. The lot was grown by the Peterson Family at Finca Esmeralda. The lot at the time sold for a record-setting $350 per pound, ie £590 a kilo. [see The Story of Geisha]

Top end of town, chatted with three Vietnamese girls, day out from Nottingham where they are studying. They walk with me to Coffee Aroma, but not possible to sit outside, all tables taken. I grab a takeaway. They head off for the station.

I had earlier told them of places to eat, where to find coffee and chocolate in Nottingham. Also Lincoln.

As they left they thanked me for the conversation. They said no one stops and talks to them. A very sad refection of our society.

I just make bus. Actually a different bus, no longer PC Coaches, a brand new bus, a different bus company.

Leave a comment