Android 5.x.x update

Google Nexus 7 2012, an excellent tablet, or at least it was until I upgraded the operating system to Android 5.x.x then it turned into an expensive paperweight.

It became useless, minutes to turn on, unresponsive apps. It had been rendered useless.

The only option appeared to be, implement a factory reset, but first, try this idea of clearing the cache.

I had not used my tablet since the beginning of the year. Long wait whilst 120 updates to apps.

I went through the procedure to clear the cache, then reboot.

One and a half minutes to reboot, similar sort of delay on the apps I tried. But this was probably because they were still requiring further updates, plus synchronising and updating messages

I ran CCleaner, Avira Antivirus and Optimiser.

Still around one and a half minutes to turn on, but all the apps I have tried, are now responding within a few seconds, and within the app, seconds more or less instant response when I tap.

This though does beg a big question: Why, when carrying out an upgrade, does Android not clear the cache then reboot?

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Android 5.x.x update”

  1. misakouroco Says:

    Ahhh, I know the pain, I’ve done a very similar process!

    Like

  2. keithpp Says:

    But at least it worked, clearing out the cache, and saved a factory reset, which loses everything.

    Begs the question why Android does not do this when updating operating system?

    Very bad of Google, to update an operating system in such a way that renders a tablet unusable.

    I am thinking of doing the same with Samsung Siii mini, though the procedure to clear the cache may be different.

    I have a different problem with Siii mini.

    It comes with only 4GB of memory, which is totally inadequate.

    I have added 32GB but apart from photos I take, everything is stored on the 4GB, apps, BBC iPlayer programs, books. I have yet to see an option to store on added memory.

    To download a BBC TV one hour video, had to delete other programmes. And now warning insufficient space, apps may not function correctly.

    I had to delete UndercoverUndercover episode I to watch episode II, now will have to do the same for episode III.

    And yet I have masses of space on the 32GB card.

    Like

  3. Peter Coulson Says:

    Why is it so complicated? Shouldn’t you just be able to upgrade without all this drama?

    Like

  4. keithpp Says:

    Agreed, it should be possible to upgrade a Google tablet in this case Nexus 7 2012 with Android and not find it renders the tablet unusable.

    The upgrade should clear the cache, then re-boot.

    This is very bad design on the part of Google.

    Like

  5. keithpp Says:

    View at Medium.com

    Like

Leave a comment