Android 5.x.x

Android Lollipop ver 5.1.1 running on Google Nexus 7 2012 edition

Android Lollipop ver 5.1.1 running on Google Nexus 7 2012 edition

The last few days I have been updating Android 4.x.x on a Google Nexus 7 2012 edition.

Each time I update, it tells me there is an update waiting to install.

I went through this process several times.

Eventually I get to Lollipop, Android 5.0.2.

The look and feel entirely different, and so unbelievable slow as to render my Google Nexus 7 unusable. A long wait to boot up, tap, and a long wait for anything to happen.

Update to Android 5.1 for improved performance. Understatement of the year.

And yes, it has improved performance, but still not as good as before.

Yet another update, Android 5.1.1 to improve performance and deal with bugs.

Why is it slow, it is running on a quad core processor?

At a guess, padded out with unwanted garbage to communicate with overpriced watches.

I would rather have a real watch.

There should be an option, not to install this unwanted garbage.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Android 5.x.x”

  1. Peter Coulson Says:

    How else will the biggest corporation in the world force you to buy their latest hardware? By making bloat ware.

    Like

  2. Peter Coulson Says:

    What I don’t understand though, is why people switch their tablets off? I see a lot of people switching on, and waiting for them to boot up. Surely just leave it on standby.

    I never switch mine off, the only time it ever boots up is when the OS is updated.

    Like

  3. keithpp Says:

    Switch off to maintain battery life.

    Or can switch to airline mode.

    Like

  4. Peter Coulson Says:

    For phones, people will obviously want to upgrade to the latest OS to take advantage of payment systems. More secure than contactless credit cards.

    Like

  5. Barry C Says:

    http://www.robschmuecker.com/how-to-wipe-cache-partition-nexus-7/

    Like

  6. keithpp Says:

    Google Nexus 7 2012, an excellent tablet, or at least it was until I upgraded the operating system to Android 5.x.x then it turned into an expensive paperweight.

    It became useless, minutes to turn on, unresponsive apps. It had been rendered useless.

    The only option appeared to be, implement a factory reset, but first, try this idea of clearing the cache.

    I had not used my tablet since the beginning of the year. Long wait whilst 120 updates to apps.

    I went through the procedure to clear the cache, then reboot.

    One and a half minutes to reboot, similar sort of delay on the apps I tried. But this was probably because they were still requiring further updates, plus synchronising and updating messages

    I ran CCleaner, Avira Antivirus and Optimiser.

    Still around one and a half minutes to turn on, but all the apps I have tried, are now responding within a few seconds, and within the app, seconds more or less instant response when I tap.

    This though does beg a big question: Why, when carrying out an upgrade, does Android not clear the cache then reboot?

    Android 5.x.x update

    Like

  7. keithpp Says:

    View at Medium.com

    Like

Leave a comment