Lunch at Pimento tea rooms

Pimento tea rooms is somewhere that is excellent for afternoon tea, but not somewhere I can recommend to eat.

I had intended to eat at Bailgate Deli, but too late.  Having walked up Steep Hill, I retraced my steps to Pimento tea rooms and was in time for something to eat.

The lentil soup was reasonable, a meal in itself, but apart from the name, no resemblance to Thai.

I then had a spicy bean burger and salad. It was not good, dry.

Many years ago, I used to have bean burgers in Neal’s Yard Bakery. I have never had anything comparable. These were a mixture of beans, not something made to resemble a beef burger, which was what I was served at Pimento tea rooms.

I have eaten once beforeeaten once before at Pimento tea rooms. It was a disappointment then, and it has not improved.  Pimento tea rooms is sadly not in the same league as a good vegetarian restaurant.

Service not great, though staff pleasant. My soup arrived promptly, my second course did not, I had a long wait.

Last time I was here, only one girl who was able to cope. Today half a dozen who seemed unable to cope.

Quirky rooms, each one different. Since my last visit, they have added a room at ground level, and one at the top.

There used to be occasional live music. I saw nothing to indicate live music.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

