Lincoln Heritage Day

Coolish, heavy rain.

Today Lincoln Heritage Day, various places open that not normally open, or for example Lincoln Cathedral free entry.  There was also a guided walk following route of the Battle of Lincoln.

Unfortunately heavy rain put paid to plans.

Starbucks in the High Street closed. The bad news, only for renovation. Use the opportunity to find coffee shops serving decent coffee, then do not return.

I looked in Mono Records, Bird’s Yard, then as I left, heavy rain.

I sheltered for a while in Makushi, then as the rain eased off in a potter shop.

Contrary to the sign in the window of the potter shop,  not mini-Knights these are miniature Knights.

The intention had been, maybe lunch at Bailgate Deli, join the guided walk, then as rain fell, free entry to Lincoln Cathedral. But rain put paid to that.

I had looked in the archaeological centre to ask of the walk, as they were leading it.  Lincolnshire Echo did not give full information.

On my way up Steep Hill, I met the guided walk, I apologised to the leader and learnt it would also take place on Sunday.

I had hoped for lunch at Bailgate Deli, but too late.

I walked back down Steep Hill to Pimento tea rooms. Excellent for tea and cakes, but food is not good.

It was then continue back down Steep Hill, too late for anything, a cappuccino in Madame Waffle.

I am still finding miniature Knights.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

