Lunch at Bamboo Shoots

First Tuesday of the month, farmers market in Guildford.

I was looking forward to a dosa, but when I passed by a queue, when I passed by later nothing left.

By now, mid-afternoon,  I was hungry

I set off for Canopy Coffee, but coffee shops are never good places to eat, or rarely so.

I passed by Bamboo Shoots in Jeffries Passage, a Singapore noodle joint. I decided to have honey coated crunchy chicken.

The man asked if I remembered the Chinese girl. Yes, I was about to ask about her. She had graduated and left the country.

When we met, she shared her tea with me. I in return took her for a coffee.

We had a brief conversation about tea. He imports tea from China and India, maybe around 50 different loose leaf teas.

He knew of Imperial Teas, halfway up Steep Hill in Lincoln.

He kindly gave me a small sample of Dragon Well, a Chinese tea, explained how to brew.

I say kindly gave, £20 per 50 grams, very expensive tea.

What I had was quite spicy, I needed to remove the taste as was going to try high quality coffee at Canopy.

I tried Purbeck stem ginger ice cream. Very poor quality ice cream, if not for the ginger, it would have been even worse. I suggested he try Dylan’s ice cream. Either from the van on the farmers market or from The Village.

And then on to Canopy Coffee, a quick look in Food for Thought. A young guy working there who I had talked about coffee a few weeks ago thanked me for recommending to him Union coffee.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

