Afternoon in Farnham

Like last weekend, a miserable wet weekend.

On my way to Farnham,  stop off at Aldershot, check out Aldershot Live Music Day. As always a disaster, no publicity, a waste of public money, the local council going through the motions to give the impression they are doing something, whilst at the same time squandering public money.

I would usually walk along the riverside walk, up through Gostrey meadow,  up into Downing Street.

Too wet. I alighted at the same place, only though to look in Lidl.

On leaving Lidl, I contrasted with the appalling poor service in Lidl Aldershot. Guy on the till replied many have said the same. If this be the case, why has Lidl Aldershot been allowed to fester for so long?

Neither Phyllis Tuckewell nor Oxfam books on coffee.

No soup in Gail’s But at least they now take the sign down.

As walking through Farnham in the rain, I bump into Marios, Cypriot guy who used to run The Barn. I have not seen him since it closed.  The Barn is much missed. It was the only place in Farnham that served decent food.

A cappuccino in Krema. As I am about to walk in, the door is opened for me and it is Anga (not sure of spelling), who warmly greets me. He used to manage Carocoli, then left for Australia. I was most surprised to see him

I think the regular staff were a bit miffed when I asked that he make my coffee. Good as they are, they are not in his league.

I lingered in Cook. Too late now for Waterstone’s.

A little walk into Bishop’s Meadow, too wet to stay off the path, and  then the rain turned heavier.  I was surprised to find the hay has still not been cut. maybe too wet.

A canvas shoulder bag hanging by the hedge, wet and bedraggled, with a  note asking to tweet where found. Maybe a clever way to collect data on people.

A quick shop in Waitrose.

Coffee in Waitrose mainly brand crap commodity coffee. A small selection of what can be remotely classed as quality, of that, only Union quality coffee, and the Union is old coffee, past its best.

It makes the point, if you want quality coffee, do not buy from a supermarket, buy from an indie coffee shop, a quality indie store or direct from a quality roaster like Union.

In Krema, they have coffee from Horsham Coffee Roasters, roast date prominently displayed. If you wish to know why roast date important, ask in Krema.

Lion and Lamb Cafe and Restaurant is always empty when I pass by. No surprise, the food is not good, even though the menu is always enticing. Last time I ate there, a Moroccan lamb burger half cooked. Later I checked them out. One of the co-founders ex-Starbucks, not a good sign. Also claimed artisan coffee.

As I passed by I asked one of the helpful girls. She said they have Union Hand-Roasted, which yes, is quality coffee. Whether they know how to make a decent coffee, an entirely different matter. Gail’s has Union and they make awful coffee. I said next time I am passing, I will drop in and have a coffee.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

