Afternoon in Farnham

Another very warm day.

Alight from bus and walk along riverside walk, up through Gostrey Meadow.

I wanted a book on coffee, a specific book on coffee, Real Fresh Coffee. I looked in the second hand shops, including Oxfam bookshop, nothing on coffee.

Soup in Gail’s. Usually no soup, even though always says soup on the counter. I order soup, red pepper and basil, with bread. Usually a chunk of brown bread, but today two slices of white bread.  Also a small roll with smoked salmon. Quite generous portion of smoked salmon. The soup had an unpleasant bitter taste. So long since been able to get soup, I forget their soup has this unpleasant metallic bitter taste. I have raised this before, queried what it is, but no one knows.

Gail’s source their own blend of coffee from Union Hand-Roasted Coffee. Therefore should be excellent. It was so bad, never tried again.

Fresh smoothie in Krema. I also try again their nitro cold brew on tap. It is different to last time I tried. Slightly fruity notes. But still not good. Nowhere as good as when last year did cold brew coffee or the cold brew coffee off FCB kiosk at Guildford Station. I asked, no, now we have nitro cold brew, we will not be doing cold brew. Very depresssing, could serve quality cold brew, instead serve an expansive hyped fad.

Decided to take a walk around Bishop’s Meadow only find there is a garden party at the Old Vicarage, and my friends from Curries at Home doing the food. Unfortunate I was not aware of earlier, it started at three and I did not arrive until six. I would not have wasted time in Farnham. As always, excellent garden party, good food and live music.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

