Cappuccino in Makushi

A pleasant afternoon, sunny, but cold in the wind,

I walked up Steep Hill, to Makushi.

Well strictly speaking, I did not, I walked up The Strait, went on a detour to The Collection, then carried on up Well Lane, along Danesgate, which brought me half way up Steep Hill, opposite Makushi.

I walked up Steep Hill, as far as Pimento tea rooms, and looked in Imperial Teas located in Norman House, Bookstop Cafe is located in the undercroft below.

Mainly tea, but they also do coffee.  I counted seven shelves, each with five large jars of coffee. More shelves of the same coffee behind the counter.

I did not sample any, but they looked over roasted.  No roast date given, and when I asked, given the usual story, freshly roasted, only yesterday. Unless large turnover then I doubt at their best.

I was reminded of La Cafeína in La Laguna.

On the way up, I popped in Madame Waffle, picked up latest copy of Caffeine, inquired if they had copies left of Standart, yes they did, I said I would pick up later.

For the last couple of weeks, I have been waiting for the latest batch of beans in Makushi, this time from Brazil, today they were in.

When one thinks of Brazil, one thinks of large mechanised plantations, low quality commodity coffee.

But they also grow and produce quality coffee.

Today, florentines. I resisted the temptation, had three put in a box.

The little garden out the back is now open. I am pleased to report, No Smoking.

Back down in the town, Standart issues 6 and 7 picked up from Madame Waffle. I wish I could find issue 5. Strange Standart do not list Madame Waffle as a stockist.

Looked in Ruddock’s, which is closing after 163 years in business, last day Easter Saturday.

Henry’s tea rooms will also have last day on Easter Saturday.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

