Afternoon in Guildford

The Weyside

The Weyside

Clear blue sky, hot and sunny.

I looked in the YMCA. They used to have a very nice restaurant. It has been ruined. Explains why last couple of times I have looked in, it has been empty.

On a hot day like today, in the past I would have enjoyed lunch in the back courtyard of The Keystone. A new landlord took over a couple of years ago and ruined the pub.

Roast Pork in Debenhams? Sadly not, once again roast turkey.

meat paella at La Casita

meat paella at La Casita

Lunch at La Casita, an excellent Spanish restaurant. Sea bream with rice. It was excellent. As was the gazpacho soup I had for starters. Though never before had served in a glass.

Three Chinese girls were sat at the next table. Their food too looked excellent.

Very pleasant and attractive waitress from Madrid.

Surrey Hills Coffee empty both times I passed by. Not even sight of any staff.

I looked in London Camera Exchange. Temped by an  Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II. I will have to check it out.

Popped in Ben’s Records.

narrow boat moored on River Wey

narrow boat moored on River Wey

As it was a hot day, and I had not picked up anything from the market, I decided to take a walk along the River Wey to St Catherine’s Lock. Luckily most of the walk in the shade.

At St Catherine’s Lock, two idiots swimming in the river. OK to swim in the river, but not by a lock adjacent to a weir, where the current could sweep you into the weir.

On my way to coffee at Harris + Hoole,  I looked in Lakeland. I was surprised how large the shop is. Quite a range of blenders. Picked up two books on juices.

Excellent cappuccino at Harris + Hoole. I was their only customer. Depressing it has been sold to Caffe Nero.

It was then catch a train to Farncombe to see Gryphon, who were in concert at St John’s Church. Excellent concert.

I did not leave until about 10-20. Luckily able to catch a train to Guildford, then long wait at Guildford.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

