Piss-poor service at J D Wetherspoon

gammon steak, mash and peas

gammon steak, mash and peas

A couple of weeks ago at The Queen Hotel in Aldershot, I had a rump steak. It was excellent.

Last week, gammon steak. It too was good. I asked did it come with anything? I was told no. I was thus annoyed to find it came with two fried eggs, as I would have chosen something else.

Today, at The Queen Hotel, I ordered gammon steak, but this time asked for something else instead of eggs. For example peas or mushrooms.

I sat and waited. From where I was sat I could see a dinner sitting by the kitchen. Why was no one bringing it to a table? Was it mine? Several minutes passed by. A man and a child sat at a nearby table. They had to clear the table. Should I go and ask? Eventually it was brought over having been stood for several minutes. Part of the gammon steak was dried up,  the meal was not hot. I guess I should have rejected it.

Whilst I was eating my dinner, no one cleared the tables, now piled with dirty dishes, empty glasses. I noticed other dinners sat by the kitchen, no one collecting.

No one asked how was my dinner.

The pub was not busy.

Service is not usually bad like this. Something going very wrong.

J D Wetherspoon chairman Tim Martin needs to investigate.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Piss-poor service at J D Wetherspoon”

  1. Iain Says:

    Atrocious. I hope that you have or will write to Tim Martin, otherwise he will never know about it!

  2. keithpp Says:

    Not normal service at The Queen Hotel.

    Something gone very wrong.

    There appears to be all new staff.

    Yes, agreed, Tim Martin should be made aware

    Please feel free to draw to his attention.

Leave a Reply

