Trip to London

 

Thames looking down river from Hungerford Bridge

Thames looking down river from Hungerford Bridge

I had intended to set off lunchtime, arrive early afternoon, but various calamities, I did not set off until a couple of hours later and arrived late afternoon.

Walking out of Waterloo Station the Shell building. A shock, it was no longer there, it had gone, demolished.

Very windy crossing Hungerford Bridge.

Through Embankment Gardens, up through Covent Garden, into Neal’s Yard, very late lunch at Home Slice.

Home Slice packed, but not too long a wait. Excellent pizza, I had two slices, and a half of their excellent local lager. But why oh why do they have to have awful music thudding out?

Coffee in Monmouth coffee shop. No room, had to make do with a takeaway cappuccino.

Then off to Union Chapel, somewhere in Islington.

Journey there quite easy, Piccadilly Line to King’s Cross, then Victoria Line to Highbury & Islington.

It was then I got lost.

I knew head south, came out of the station, and headed what I thought was south. I head down a side street, baffled why the sun is now facing me, opposite direction to when I left the station.   I had been heading north. I can only assume, I had seen the sun reflected off a building.

I retrace my steps, go long way around, eventually find Union Chapel.

An evening with Yanis Varoufakis. A long queue to get in. Time passes quickly, chatting to people in the queue.

Once inside, amazing building.

Yanis Varoufakis as always brilliant.

Eat at Union Chapel in the bar. Not quite what I expect in a chapel.

I have chicken. It does not look good. It is surprisingly tasty. I have with salad. It needed rice too.  I have a chat with the chef.

Leave gone 10-30. No idea where I am.

Head chef has said take Victoria Line to Oxford Circus, then Bakerloo Line to Waterloo.

Proves to be good advice as only short walk to change lines.

— to be continued —-

Tags:

Leave a Reply

