Beware black market money changers

In the Old Town Square, admiring the Easter Egg outside St Nicolas, a man sidled up, asked where I was from.

He then asked did I wish to change pounds to crowns?

No.

Did I wish to change euros to crowns?

No.

I then explained I had pounds, euros and crowns, therefore why would I wish to change anything?

He then sidled off.

The scam that is taking place is that they do an exchange, claim a better exchange rate, but then they are every clever. They do not give fake money, they give Bulgarian money (which is worthless), it looks similar and the tourist none the wiser.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

