La Laguna

Teatro Leal

Teatro Leal

La Laguna, the former capital of Tenerife, is a town I had never visited before.

Direct bus to Santa Cruz, with stops at Tenerife Norte, La Laguna and Santa Cruz.

Old colonial town, constructed in 1500, broad streets, impressive grand mansions.

From where the bus drops off, maybe 20 minutes walk into the centre. Or catch the tram.

I had three girls from Santiago de Compostella show me the way, two of who were students at the university, Universidad de La Laguna, studying pharmacy.

I arrived mid-afternoon, not many people around, shops starting to open.

I was not cold, but turned cold when I left.

One of my reasons for visiting, was a coffee shop El Café del Aguere in an old hotel, Hotel Aguere.

There is another coffee shop, La Cafína. I looked in, I guessed around 50 varieties of coffee beans, they said 47. I asked a few questions. Clueless on coffee. I walked out.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “La Laguna”

  1. clivea2003 Says:

    Looks such a pretty place Keith.

  2. keithpp Says:

    Yes, a very attractive old colonial town.

    San Cristóbal de La Laguna, was founded in 1500, the original capital of Tenerife.

Leave a Reply

