Breakfast at The Tilly Shilling

traditional English breakfast

traditional English breakfast

OK, but not great.

Wishing no egg, I asked for extra toast, not realising I got toast.

Butter was dumped on the plate in the middle of my breakfast, bacon was dried up.

Maybe I should have gone to The Triangle. But the food there is not great, I did not know what time they finished serving breakfast and if too late, would have been too late for The Tilly Shilling.

£2-99 for breakfast. With a glass of fresh orange and a mug of tea, a little over a fiver.

I was quite surprised at the number of people having breakfast. Or maybe they get in before midday and it is an early lunch. What did shock me, and shocked me some weeks ago when I had breakfast, the number of people late morning drinking alcohol and some already drunk. Should pubs be serving alcohol before midday?

After my breakfast, I tried the filter coffee. Disgusting, undrinkable. I left it after one sip. Then I thought, add milk. I tried, it was even more disgusting.

Breakfast superior at Wetherspoon Gatwick.

Interesting article in Wetherspoon News (summer 2015) by Tim Martin demolishing the euro. Makes a change from his special pleading for VAT exemptions, or his latest on hike in minimum wage. If Wetherspoon cannot afford to pay its staff a decent wage they do not deserve to remain in business.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Breakfast at The Tilly Shilling”

  1. Peter Coulson Says:

    Wetherspoons is disgusting at the best of times. Cheap, but rubbish. Better to pay a bit more at the Hungry Horse, or Rusmoor Cafe.

  2. keithpp Says:

    Wetherspoon is variable. The Tilly Shilling is not good. The Queen Hotel in Aldershot better, but vary variable, depends upon the chef.

    I went once to The Hungry Horse. I walked in and walked straight back out. It must rank as one of the most disgusting places I have ever visited.

    Rushmoor Cafe? If that is the greasy spoon n North Camp, no thanks.

    If I was in North Camp, which I wasn’t, I would have tried The Tea Shop Around the Corner, or maybe even Grays Coffee, but I wasn’t, I was in Farnborough, and if I was going elsewhere, I may as well have gone home.

  3. Peter Coulson Says:

    Always a good breakfast at the Aviator, just down the road.

  4. keithpp Says:

    There are plenty of places I could go, but I was where I was, not elsewhere.

    I would not go in Aviator on principle, I have no wish to line TAG’s pockets.

Leave a Reply

