Guildford farmers market

Town Bridge

Town Bridge

Town Bridge

Town Bridge

Alice and her sister

Alice and her sister

white rabbit

white rabbit

strawberries

strawberries

Celtic baker

Celtic baker

Hogs Back Brewery

Hogs Back Brewery

English wine

English wine

A mixed day, sun came out it was hot, sun went in it was cool, or at least cooler.

This time of year the market comes into its own, lots of fresh produce.

As part of the Summer Festival, Guildford ought to have the first Tuesday of August a Street Food Festival.

Excellent lunch at La Casita, followed by ice cream off Dylan’s Ice Cream.

Last year, Guildford Independent’s Day, well actually a month. I wondered if Guildford Independent’s Day this year, as it was a good idea. A map showing local independent shops in the town centre.

I walked past a tailor, and popped in and asked could I have a few, as I had spotted on display in his window. He said yes, help yourself.

I asked that he stamp it. He did not know what to do. I explained. He then said he could not, I had to buy something. Well I am hardly going to order a tailored suit.

Last year, it was a a visit. At the time I thought better to purchase, but now I have changed my mind. A visit, maybe a visit to somewhere not been before, see what they do.

Last year the Thai restaurant in Jeffries Passage was not shown or listed. They had not even been asked. I am pleased to see this year they are listed. And yet Glutton & Glee are not.

Before the tailor, I had visited a couple of places that are listed, and yet I had not noticed the maps on show nor were they drawn to my attention. Some take the view do not wish to direct custom elsewhere. Incredibly short-sighted if everyone takes that view.

Why farmers market stalls not listed?

They need to do, which they failed to do last year, ask retailers to make available  even after the month is over, as useful map showing the independents.

They also need to build Guildford Independent’s Day and launch a local currency, a Guildford pound.  A lost opportunity not to have done this year having generated interest last year.

Pot of tea and a flapjack at Glutton & Glee. It has recently changed hands, now owned by a company, and it shows. Pot of tea and a flapjack over a fiver. It would have been more had I had a tiny piece of carrot cake or a cappuccino. They have lost their good staff, including a top class barista. Art from the walls has gone, and everywhere painted a battleship grey. The tables and chairs outside, not rustic, rusty. I wonder how long before it closes?

On my way to the market I passed the back of The Keystone. At least the graffiti has been painted over. Later I bumped into a friend. She said the pub has become a nightmare for those living in the street, noise of the music, the drunks it now attracts.

Guildford farmers market, first Tuesday of the month in the High Street.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

