Concierto de Aranjuez

Concierto de Aranjuez or as it is often known Rodrigo’s Guitar Concerto.

The second movement, the best known part of the concerto, is a mystical, haunting, beautiful piece of music, that brings tears to the eyes.

Sometimes a piece of music has a sense of place. This is certainly true of the second movement. It conjures up images of southern Spain, of Moorish Spain.

The concerto was written at the time of the Spanish Civil War. It was a sad time for Rodrigo, his wife had suffered a miscarriage.

Spanish composer Joaquín Rodrigo (1901-1999) was blind from the age of three. What may come as a surprise, he was a pianist, not a guitarist.

BBC Radio 4 featured Concierto de Aranjuez in the aptly named Soul Music.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: