Lunch at Oliver’s coffee shop

Olibers coffee shop

Olibers coffee shop

Olibers coffee shop

Olibers coffee shop

gammon steak

gammon steak

Usually when I walk past Olibers coffee shop it is empty. Today not so, it was busy.

I was on my way to lunch at the County Restaurant. I had excellent pea and mint soup, but did not fancy anything else on the menu. I decided to go to Stokes at The Collection.

Passing by Oliver’s on the way, I looked at the boards outside. No, change of mind, I would try their gammon streak. I like a good gammon steak.

It was a wise choice, the gammon steak with a slice of pineapple on top was served with a little salad, peas and chips. The gammon was excellent, but at 8oz, too much, I would happily have shared.

I commented on the boards outside, which I thought was a good idea as it would bring people in and that it was usually empty. The woman said it was her idea, and yes it did make a difference, as often sat there all day and no one came in.

I asked where was the attractive blonde? She was helping out, and now back at university.

From the front to the back maybe two or three well worn stone steps. That of stone, and well worn, gives some idea of the age of the building.

There are not many good places to eat. Plenty of good indie coffee bars and tea shops, home made soups, cakes, but not a meal. Olibers seems to be the exception. Far better than the Dambusters Inn at Scampton or the Butcher and Beast at Heighington. And at £6-50, reasonably priced.

They serve tea, coffee and cakes in Oliver’s, but make the mistake of not having the cakes on display. Nothing is more tempting than seeing a delicious looking cake on display.

On leaving, continue on up The Strait and Steep Hill, as I wished to try Pimento Tea Rooms and look in Imperial Teas of Lincoln, but very very slowly as a steep climb, as I was feeling very full.

Top Story in The Waverley Daily (Tuesday 5 February 2013).

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Lunch at Oliver’s coffee shop”

  1. Ma Says:

    Those fries look soo good. Looks like a great cafe.

  2. keithpp Says:

    Yes, very good gammon steak.

    I ate there again this week. I did not enjoy it as much but I think more me, than the meal. I was not feeling very well, and when a portion size is too big it becomes oppressive as you feel you have to finish it.

    There are many excellent coffee shops, places for morning coffee, afternoon tea, delicious cakes, home made soup. Very few where you can get a decent midday lunch. Olibers is one of the rare exceptions, the other is the County Restaurant at County Hall.

    Everyone is feeling the pinch and suffering. You will find with the exception of Stokes on High Bridge, most are empty. Olibers is often empty.

    Olibers used to have ten staff, now down to three.

    All are losing money. If it continues we will lose a lot of excellent little small shops and coffee bars.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

